Hello Again Old Friend!

29 Oct


While this sweet snack has been around since 1949, I had to go all the way to Paris, France to discover it.  My first taste of Nutella was as it slowly melted inside a warm crepe as I walked through the Jardin du Luxembourg in the Latin Quarter.

As the cooler months approach (yes, it gets cool in Southern California for a couple of months a year) the warmth of the hazelnut flavor found in Nutella makes it the greatest October afternoon snack. Since discovering the wonderful world of Nutella I’ve had it for breakfast on toast, at the farmer’s market in a crepe and on the go in a Parisian park.  But recently I’ve discovered new ways to enjoy this flavorful spread.

  1. Salty Peanutty Nutella:  Snacks have become an obsession in my office and a regular in the kitchenette is a tub of peanut butter filled pretzels.  After bringing a jar of Nutella in for my toast, my co-workers and I discovered that dipping the peanut butter filled pretzels into the Nutella brought both to another snacking level!
  2. Easy Nutella Brunch:  Another favorite that I found in Paris was pain au chocolat.  I typically stopped off at the corner bakery for one every morning (thank goodness I had the opportunity to walk everywhere and burn off those calories!).  To make your own quick and easy pain au chocolat all you need is a can of refrigerated crescent rolls.  Before you roll them, drop a dollop of Nutella in the middle.  Brush some egg wash on top and bake.  You’ll have to fight your brunch guests for the last one!
  3. It’s The Great Pumpkin, Nutella:  I recently dressed up some pumpkin muffins by spreading Nutella on top like frosting.  I don’t think you can really call them “muffins” at that point, but who cares what you call them!  They are amazing!
  4. A Spoon Full of Sugar:  Um…you can always go with a classic.  Just dip a large spoon into the jar and enjoy!
2 Responses to “Hello Again Old Friend!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cranberry Bars: Take Two « whoopie cookie - December 7, 2010

    […] I really like the taste of hazelnuts, also why I LOVE NUTELLA!! Thanks to Yvette’s post on Nutella, I have a new way to eat it besides licking it off the spoon! Back from my tangent… […]

  2. A midnight snack « whoopie cookie - August 5, 2011

    […] too late to make cookies, cakes, brownies, or any of the pointers that Yvette suggests in this post. I went to the pantry and find my trusty jar of…. Nutella! I love Nutella! Usually, I grab […]

Leave a Reply

