Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

22 Oct

 

This weekend is the annual Fall Festival at my son’s school.  They ask that the parents help in whatever capacity they are able.  Can you guess what I volunteered for?

I’ve been making pumpkin whoopie pies with cream cheese frosting for Thanksgiving for years.  When trying to choose which baked goods in my arsenal I would donate to the Fall Festival, whoopie pies were an obvious choice.  I think they are great for functions like this where people may not be able to sit down while they eat. 

As I dropped them off this morning the mothers in charge of the “Sugar Shack” at the fair noted how fragrant they were.  I suspect that if the house is still filled that warm yummy pumpkin aroma by the time I get home tonight I might just have to bake another batch to keep!

For this batch I used the pumpkin whoopie pie recipe from my new go-to baking bible “Whoopie Pies” by Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell.  For the frosting filling I used cream cheese frosting from the grocery store.  Hey, don’t judge me!  Mostly homemade is the best I can do with two kids and a full-time job!

We are headed to the Fall Festival tonight.  I am eager to see how they sell.  I hope they go for at least two tickets each!  I think they’re worth it!!

Leave a Reply

