Carve a Stamp, Save a Tree

20 Oct

I fell in LOVE. 

And then I fell in LOVE again…with Faux Bois.

While redecorating our living room I knew that I wanted to pepper our walls with a collage of frames.  I did have several family photos in mind and a few pieces of art pulled from other rooms.  And then there was one empty frame.  Enter the faux bois.

I love the idea of stamping and creating my own stamp to be used again and again, maybe for my own home or to be gifted to others.  I love efficiency!  So I purchased a rubber block from my local Michaels.  I copied a wood grain pattern onto the rubber block and then outlined a heart in the middle.  I then VERY CAREFULLY carved out the wood grain pattern and the heart.

For this project I specifically used paint intended for use with rubber block stamps.  In the past I have used regular ink pads with stamps carved into rubber block; however, to create the clean modern look I wanted, I needed the even coverage that only a trayer and paint can provide. 

I used a simple piece of 11 x 14 sketch paper framed by white matting and a beautiful frame.  I am so pleased with the result!

5 Responses to “Carve a Stamp, Save a Tree”

  1. Mom October 21, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    That is so cute…what did you stamp it on…the wall in your room?

    • whoopiecookie October 21, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      I stamped it on paper and then framed the paper and hung it in the living room.

      • whoopiecookie October 26, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

        So I figure… since you already made the stamp.. it sure would save all of us a lot of time if you’d share the love! 😉

  2. Yvette October 31, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    I’ll trade you for some Kahlua!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Re-Mix « whoopie cookie - January 7, 2011

    […] For my dear sweet co-blogger cousins I stamped them
    each their very own woodgrain pic with theirs and their loves
    initials in them.  […]

Leave a Reply

