blondies

5 Sep


This, I will admit, is my second attempt at making Blondies. I don’t remember how or what went wrong the last time, it is all a blur. All I can remember is that my husband said that they weren’t that good. They were edible (unlike my attempt to make chocolate mint cookies with fresh mint, that will be for another time), but something was off.. I think I made them as cookies instead of bars. I must not have had my coffee that day.

This time, I documented step by step and got AMAZING results! I used the Blondies recipe from my Better Homes and Gardens, New Baking Book. It was very easy to make and I think everyone should give them a try!

The Shopping List

Brown Sugar -packed; 2 cups
Butter -2/3 cup
Eggs -2
Vanilla -2 teaspoons
Flour -all purpose; 2 cups
Baking Powder -1 teaspoon
Baking Soda -1/4 teaspoon
Semi Sweet Chocolate Pieces -1 cup
Nuts -chopped; 1 cup

Grease a 13 x 9 x 2 baking pan and set aside. Preheat oven to 350.

In a medium sauce pan heat the brown sugar and butter over medium heat until the sugar dissolves, stirring constantly. Cool slightly.

Using a wooden spoon, stri in eggs, one at a time, and vanilla.

Stir in flour, baking soda and baking powder.

Spread into the prepared pan.

Sprinkle with nuts and chocolate.

Bake in the 350 degree oven for 25-30 minutes or until done. Cool in the pan on a wire rack. Cut into the bars when warm; cool completely in the pan.

They turned out so delicious and I totally redeemed myself! Dessert was a complete success!

Leave a Reply

