Salty Goodness

28 Aug

Today was a rare occasion when I was (a) home with the kids with nothing else to do and (b) doing the cooking. While I do bake fairly regularly, I really almost never cook. Since Daddy was headed for a boys’ night out I took the opportunity to try a recipe from Giada de Laurentiis’ book “Giada’s Kitchen: New Italian Favorites” that I’ve had my eye on for some time now.

Prosciutto Mozzarella Pinwheels

My 4-year-old and I made this together.  It was super easy and while he isn’t a particularly picky eater, he doesn’t often give out high praise either.  As he took his first few bites he said, “Oh My Gosh!  This is SO good!”  And he was right.  The prosciutto is salty and that paired with the gooey mozzarella makes for yummy comfort food.  I think I was initially reluctant to make this dish because I wasn’t certain where to find pizza dough.  Seems silly now since it was readily available at my local Henry’s Market in both french bread and whole wheat varieties.  Kids will particularly enjoy rolling out the dough and placing the cheese, prosciutto, and spinach on top.  It will take bigger hands to roll it into a log but once that is done you just have to brush on some olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Super easy!

We served ours with store-bought lemonade that I poured into a carafe with frozen strawberries and refrigerated.  Easy squeezy strawberry lemonade. 

 

In this house a meal isn’t complete without dessert so we also whipped up some oatmeal chocolate chip cookies a la Betty Crocker. 

Mission complete!  But Shhhh!  Don’t tell my husband that I can make a decent meal, I’d hate to raise questions about my cleaning skills too!

Leave a Reply

