Bag a Baguette

10 Aug

I was once a starving student in Paris.  I wasn’t literally starving, but in order to afford a legitimate dinner at a decent restaurant I really had to make my 60 euros per week stretch!  While I am sure my mother would not approve, I was able to manage this feat by purchasing a half a baguette every morning from the corner patisserie for just pocket change.  I kept my wrapped baguette in my purse and toted it around to all my classes, eating on the run.  Then, come dinner I was able to afford a balanced meal at a real French restaurant that my mother would be pleased with. 

If only I had this bag back then!  I found this bag while reading my Lucky Magazine.  It actually has a separate pocket for your baguette!  It’s eco-chic and a percentage of its sales go to the Ocean Conservancy to make up for all the damage that those nasty plastic bags do! 

Even if you aren’t a starving student living off baguettes you can take this bag with you to the grocery store and avoid crushing the bread for tonight’s dinner!

3 Responses to “Bag a Baguette”

  1. caasicopp August 11, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    I love this bag! I have to get one! I go shopping at Fresh & Easy on my way home from work because they have awesome bread (they are just awesome overall)! They get the bread from Il Fornaio and it’s just under-baked. You stick it in the oven for like ten minutes…and that’s it! Delicious, warmed bread for dinner and as a bonus…the house smells sooooo good! With this bag… I can get it home and it won’t be smashed by all the other goodies I get!

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Aunt Yvonne August 11, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

      Wow i love it!! i need one for Italy for the days we go to the market and bring something back!! I think I am on it!! gonna see how much it is and maybe purchase it!!

  2. Yvette August 19, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    Caasi, you should totally make one with your spin on it!!!

Leave a Reply

