Strawberry Shortcut Cookies

17 Apr

So, as it turns out cookies don’t last very long in our house.  The cookie jar is again empty.  Since cake mix was on sale last week, I picked up a couple of Spring appropriate flavors: Lemon and Strawberry.

This morning I used the Strawberry cake mix to make what I’ll call Strawberry Shortcut Cookies.  These couldn’t be easier.

1 box Strawberry Cake Mix
1 8 oz tub of Cool Whip
1 egg
Powdered Sugar for coating
 

Mix everything together until well blended.  The dough will be super sticky.  It was also a little wet.  I had initially planned on rolling the dough with my hands and coating with powdered sugar, but found the dough was too wet and sticky to use my hands.  My scooper came to the rescue.  It also helps to keep the cookies the same size and to cook evenly as a result.

Once you scoop out a rounded portion of dough, drop it into a small bowl of powdered sugar and roll it around until coated.  I used a spoon to push it around to avoid sticky fingers.

These bake at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes.  Let them set a bit before moving them to a cooling rack.  Yields approximatley 45 cookies.

The cookie jar is full again…

3 Responses to “Strawberry Shortcut Cookies”

  1. Caasi (@CaasiCopp) April 17, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    I am trying this tonight with whatever cake mix I have in the pantry! Hopefully they turn out good!

    • whoopiecookie April 17, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      I’ve got a box of lemon at home that I’m going to tackle once I have some more room in the cookie jar!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Valuable Gift « whoopie cookie - July 11, 2012

    [...] mixed up the fresh lemonade, made their own signage and set up shop outside.  I made some lemon shortcut cookies to help lure in customers [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

