Soccer Ball Cake Pops

16 Aug

Over the weekend, we were invited and sadly not able to attend, a soccer themed birthday party.  I was asked to make some soccer ball cake pops for the event.  I have previously made these baseball cake pops and those were a big hit so I was eager to try another sport.

The baseball cake pops were a little easier than the soccer balls.  I again used a chocolate cake with a bit of  milk chocolate frosting to form the cake balls.  I dipped them in vanilla almond bark and let them set.  And this is where the simple and easy went out of the door…

Adding the black pentagons to each ball was, in a word, tedious.  I learned, while making the baseball cake pops, that gel and regular icing don’t cut it on these candy coated treats.  I think using the melted candy coating actually works best, but it can be tricky to work with on detailed designs.  I believe some people use fondant as well.  I am not experienced with fondant (nor do I like the taste) so I wanted to give it a go using the melting candies (In retrospect, I think the fondant would have probably come out cleaner and more realistic).

Then the problem became, how do I color the melted almond bark?  I tried to use regular food coloring here.   That was a lumpy disaster.  Where is Alton Brown when I need him to explain the science behind almond bark to me?!  At my neighborhood Michael’s  I found a set of candy colors made by Wilton.  I used the entire jar of black to color my white almond bark.  I practiced a few times on a piece of parchment paper and then I moved on to the cake pops.  I kept an image of a soccer ball in front of me so that I could keep going back to refer to it.  After awhile its easy to lose the big picture.

I’m sorry I missed the party, but I am told that it was a great success and the cake pops were delish.

What sport is next?  I guess football season is upon us?!

Pin It
5 Responses to “Soccer Ball Cake Pops”

  1. rkolosci98@gmail.com September 22, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    I noticed your comment about not liking the taste of fondant. I wanted to tell you you should try Marshmallow fondant recipes. I do cake and cake pops and cupcakes and I hate premade fondant but the taste of the marshmallow fondant is awesome. Hope that helps, cause it can be quite useful for intricate details

    • whoopiecookie September 22, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll have to try that next time!

  2. rumpydog November 24, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    Your pops are so beautiful. One of the latest “deals” you see on commercials here locally is for that cake pop pan. I see all those gorgeous pops I’m SUPPOSED to be able to make if I buy this pan and I think…. nah! it’s not that easy. I’ll stick to the folks like you who are talented and love doing the work.

    • whoopiecookie November 24, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve seen that commercial too. I don’t know that it would work that great. Cake pops can be fun to make, you should try it!

  3. elizabeth December 3, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Hey there! I reccomend always using gel coloring over liquid and whenever dying something black dye it brown first then dye the brown black. It will help you achieve black much faster and savesome sanity:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

